Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

It was an early start to the day, too early. 4.40am early. No wonder D was tired and irritable tonight.

She has thick linings on her curtains but as soon as the chirping starts, she’s up. I did try the “don’t get up until it’s x o’clock” previously but she would take that literally and not get up if she needed the bathroom…leading to accidents.

She doesn’t tend to settle back down and snooze either, the slightest movement of my arm and one eye opens, a bit like Rudy in Ice Age 3 (but less menacing). The scene when Manny, Sid and Diego think Rudy is all secure and then one eye opens…

20130605-200441.jpg

Despite the early start, both went in well to their separate schools. One didn’t come out well however…I’d forgotten to put her home-school diary in the bag and she was furious with me! Change of routine. As soon as I saw D’s face I knew what was wrong, bear hug time.

She’s been very similar to a light switch this afternoon and evening, one minute laughing, the next highly irritated by her brother, who in turn has taken offence and been irritated by her.

She has used drawing to self-calm tonight, this is a golden horse, as yet unnamed.

20130605-201036.jpg

And this is the golden horse tucked up in a trinket box, with a cardboard blanket and pillow. She’s left it up to me to think of a name overnight, the name Goldie has already been rejected.

20130605-201226.jpg

Hopefully tomorrow will bring a better day and a later start. I hope everyone’s had a good day, comments/RTs/shares welcomed, thanks for reading Jx šŸ˜˜

20130605-201410.jpg

Leave a comment