Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

Thursday 17th May

Oh My Goodness, the predictable unpredictability of autism!

We had the usual reluctance around school this morning and off we set. We got to school and whether it was because the classroom door was open – not closed; whether it was because it was the Thurs-Fri teacher and not the Mon-Weds one or whether D knew that I was heading off after drop-off to get some bits for her birthday piñata…she got out of her buggy and walked into her classroom by herself! No running away, no coaxing from the TAs needed…it was brilliant!! I can count on one hand the amount of times she’s gone in like that, it was great!

It’s the little things (well, it’s not a little thing to me) that really set SN parents apart from NT parents. Something which would just be shrugged off as “the norm” is a major achievement!

So…happy D, very happy Mumma!
I even bought a dress for our wedding anniversary at the end of this month, although of course, I’ve had it years, this old thing? (nudge, nudge, wink, wink)

D and her TA were late coming out today so I had to go to the classroom to wait, she was overjoyed to see me! She had an ice-cream from the van again – a condition of walking on “gruesome twosome” days – and that held her focus walking back. She very happily gave the man the right money and asked for her cone – no tree-hugging because there would have been changed given today. She did say that someone had been mean to her and there was a note in her home-school diary to that affect so… better communication today too.

She’s settled, tired but happy, after a very good day. I know that when the next not-so-good day comes (let’s not call it “bad”), I’ll be able to look back on today and remember.

Thanks for reading, comments/RTs as ever welcomed Jx

Comments on: "Thursday 17th May" (2)

  1. I would just like to say i think you really are an inspiration! My little girl is 4 with no dissabilities but i find her to be hard work a lot of the time! But you have to deal with Autism on top of everything else! Its so lovely that your daughter had a good day and just to say again, i think your great xxx

    • Awwww, thank you. I’m just me, doing my own little bit and really grateful for every RT, new follow and comment, you’ll make me blush! ☺ just wanting a more accepting, tolerant world for my lovely D and everyone else with special needs x

Leave a comment