Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

Wednesday 16th May

Ho humm… Not a brilliant day.

D was absolutely fine until we got into school and there were children with drums outside their classroom, banging on them. This sudden noise was too much for her and she ran off. One TA came out, followed by another and we were all walking back to her classroom, when her teacher came out, took her hand from mine and took her off to class. I didn’t get a “how was she?” or “say goodbye to Mum” – left feeling very small and very demoralised. Which will be evident in my “That…just that” post from earlier today.

D came out looking very tired and very pleased to see me, she almost bowled me over! We went to get her an ice-cream from the van, I normally give her the £2 and she’ll ask and pay but because I had a £5 note – and this was different – she wouldn’t and there was a bit of tree-hugging whilst I got it. The ice cream man was really surprised, D is a regular on a Wednesday/Thursday.

I wanted to explain to her why I hadn’t said goodbye this morning and she did get quite upset, which made me feel terrible (and also cross at the lack of empathy).

She’s been very up and down as a result, lashing out at her brother at the slightest thing.

She’s settled now, having had her melatonin and under her weighed blanket so everything crossed for a better day tomorrow.

Thanks for reading, comments/RTs as ever welcomed – all helping to spread awareness of autism – Jx 😘

Tonight’s picture is an image I found, I love it:

20120516-205959.jpg

Comments on: "Wednesday 16th May" (3)

  1. Thats the problem really ,everyones always so busy and taking the time to think about how it can ruin the whole day for the child and the parent just dosen’t register with them 😦

    • Thank you for your comments, someone else gave what the teacher used a specific name “take child from parent with planned ignoring” – well, she definitely got the ignoring bit right! Will be talking to her new teacher from September, this “planned ignoring” doesn’t do D (or me) any good!

  2. Really sorry to read about this. I hope that at some point you will be able to (if you haven’t already) explain to the school that while they might class this as a typical ‘separation anxiety thing’, therefore, ‘take child from mum with planned ignoring’ that there are actually other more complicated elements to this type of situation for an ASD child. It’s so important that some members of staff become aware of the sensory issues surrounding autism, to which days like today for you (and which I’ve experienced myself) would be dealt with using the right approach together with at least a bit of understanding and sensitivity to the child/parent’s particular needs. Hope tomorrow will be a better day for you and D 🙂

Leave a Reply

