Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

20130509-133319.jpg

I’m not used to this blatant self-promotion but….it has to be done!

Regular readers of the blog may be aware that I’ve been shortlisted in the Commentary section of the Brilliance in Blogging awards. Something which I’m still very humbled and amazed about.

But..to proceed further (and I have surprised myself with how much I would really like to) I need votes here (category 17)..

What can I tell you about me and my blog?

Well, I started blogging regularly in March 2012, having discovered that it was both therapeutic for me and beneficial for others to read. In October last year, the blog also became a website. The main reason is that autism is an invisible disability, looks are deceiving, the camera DOES lie.

I’ve blogged through the realisation that a second child of ours might be on the spectrum and his subsequent diagnosis; feeling let down by the professionals and many proud and sad moments.

I’ve been troll-ed, I’ve been bullied, I’ve kept going. I’ve been asked to write articles for other online publications and I’ve been honoured and enjoyed it.

The principle I stick to is to be honest, both to myself and the people who read it and to enjoy it.

I can’t really say much more, other than I blog not only for autism awareness but acceptance. Looking at my children’s faces, I know I’m trying my best.

The closing date for votes is this Sunday, 12th May, please cast me a vote (here) if you are able. All it takes is a name and email address and I’ll really appreciate it.

Thank you for reading this shameless plug! Jx

20130509-135058.jpg

Comments on: "@AutismMumma Needs You!" (10)

  1. Done. I spotted a few of my other blogging friends too 🙂

  2. Done, hope you win xx

  3. Done. Anything to help a fellow cavy slave!

    ~Amy

  4. You got it! 🙂 Done

  5. […] I was shortlisted in the Brilliance in Blogging awards, something which I felt very humbled about. I don’t go by stats and traffic and blog for the […]

  6. […] I was shortlisted in the Brilliance in Blogging awards, something which I felt very humbled about. I don’t go by stats and traffic and blog for the […]

Leave a Reply

