Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

It’s not difficult is it? Finish whatever you’ve just been doing…and flush. “Leave as you’d wish to find” as my Grandma would say.

If we’re out in town or at the local shops, D will usually “hold on” until we get home – and I’ve started to notice T does that too – the public toilets are “too noisy” – with their hand dryers – and “too smelly” – I think with the air fresheners and products they use.

It is a rarity for D to use a public toilet, or even one at school. Does that make me feel good, knowing that it must be hurting her? No. Does it speed up the process at which we whizz around places, not wanting to have an “accident” as soon as we’re through the door? Of course.

She wanted to “go” earlier, decided she couldn’t wait until we got home. Very rare. We went in a public toilet…and whoever had been in there before hadn’t flushed.

The sight, the smells…all too much.

That took a lot for her to decide to brave it, now put off completely.

Thank you so much whoever that was.

MummyBarrow

Linking up with Mummy Barrow for Ranty Friday.

Comments on: "Ranty Friday – why don’t people FLUSH" (8)

  1. It makes me crazy too! I have kids with sequencing problems so at home I always double check they’ve done everything, and I do the same when we’re out. It’s just basic common manners (and hygiene) Bleurgh, poor D 😦

  2. Ah, poor D. I hope your both ok. Seriously, I cannot stand public toilets. I find them vile. Even if flushed the general state there in these days is shocking. So I totally feel your pain for many reasons. And as for them hand dryers. My two also find them very over bearing. If a toilet is needed its always a quick in and out process. Big hugs for D
    Xxx

  3. You know, it doesn’t matter who we are or how we cope with life, there are some things that are just simply good manners and make life nicer for all concerned. I sympathise completely. Justified rant!

  4. Yeah annoys me intensely , we got the problem at Work. Not to go in to to fine detail , we went through a phase of pebble dashing. The toilets are shared with the General Public so it’s hard to know what was going on. Still it is just part of life, I actually find young kids say 7 + the worst because they kind of Panic. Still , I admire the attendents who keep the public toiliets neat in certain areas , some of them do such a good job. As for the hand dryers , I know they are very noisy. Actually I’m 52 , and toilets of all sorts still frighten me, so you can tell D it’s alright. I’ve survived ( just).

    • Thanks, I much prefer it when we’re at home and she can feel secure.
      The hand-dryers are a real issue for her …as well as the obvious!
      I will let her know, thanks x

Leave a Reply

