Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

Dear Mr Osborne

Oh I do hope I’ve spelt your name correctly (excuse the sarcasm) because I know you’re sensitive about it.

You won’t know me – or care to be honest. I’m a parent to those disabled children who seem invisible to you, who will grow up to be invisible adults. As far as you’re concerned they are a drain on society, part of the welfare drain. What have they done to you?

We are not a Philpott family, my husband is self-employed and has been all his working life. I worked too, until I choose to stay at home at look after our children because we felt it was the best thing to do. If you can find me a job that fits in with school hours, less than half an hour away from my daughter’s SN school – in case she has a convulsion – with the school holidays off and flexibility for when school is unable to be attended to due anxieties, then go ahead.

We pay our flipping high taxes. Work is hard to come by for my husband at times, people will push and push the price down (knowing that work is scarce), try and pay less when it’s completed or cancel – by bloody text – the night before. He’s a proud man, who wants to care for his family.

We’ve never signed on, some weeks it is a choice between new school shoes or paying the gas bill. I bet you don’t worry about turning your heating above 15c, do you?

Even if we applied for a blue badge, we wouldn’t get one. Autism doesn’t seem to be recognised as a criteria. If my daughter bolted in a busy car park, which she would do to her stranger anxieties and heightened sensory awareness, she’d more than likely be knocked down. She bolted into the path of a bus once, now you’re going to think I’m a bad parent.

You don’t understand disabilities you can’t see. When my children reach adulthood, you’re going to force them to ATOS interviews with people they don’t know, in unfamiliar places. I won’t be allowed to go with them and just because they’ll tell you their name and age, it will be assumed they understand and are fit for work. My daughter can tell you what date her birthday is but ask her her year of birth and she wouldn’t understand. She can tell you all about Bunny but ask her to do a two-staged request (go and fetch xxx and then do xxx) and she can’t, because her brain can only process one request at a time.

You don’t understand disability. You don’t understand how people in this country are suffering due to your cuts and yet you think it’s okay to park in a disabled parking space whilst you get your fast food fix.

Words fail me….

Comments on: "Ranty Friday – Dear Mr Osborne" (22)

  1. Well done for a brilliant post explaining the thoughts of many parents of children with disabilities. You have put your point across so clearly. I agree and feel the same in relation to my son. X

  2. kimmer2111 said:

    Great post!!! Very well said!!

  3. You hit the nail on the head there! I weep for my children because if I can’t find work and am forced to find work for myself what future do they have? This world is falling apart!

  4. He drives me bonkers – I can’t believe he is still there, sooooooo not right for the role, I’m not sure he’s ever got anything right. Great open letter.

  5. Too far from reality is the problem! They have no idea what is needed, required and pressure families are under.

    How about they spend a month living with a family before deciding something so severe as cutting disability allowance, the benefit system would soon be reviewed more realistically.

  6. What a fantastic post honey! you tell him!! xx

  7. This is a great post. I’m not sure I’d be as coherent and thoughtful if I were in your shoes. The situation is outrageous. I hope that something political gives, so that vulnerable people in our society don’t have to endure anymore awful decisions.

  8. Amazing post! I feel this. I have MS, a hidden disability, and I have to fight tooth and nail to get anything at all, I had no choice in the matter and hate that because you cant see things like autism, it simply is not there!!??? Well done x

    • Thank you!
      I have a friend with same condition and it just isn’t recognised, she’s so stressed, feels unable to be a mum to her family, it’s so unfair.

  9. Great post!!! I hope all that was written in a fake Etonian accent?! 😉

  10. What a fantastic post, I heartily agree with all that you have said. I wish able-bodied people and those without children would stop parking in the spaces they shouldn’t be in. Agree that autism deserves a blue badge. Thanks for linking to PoCoLo lovely xx

Leave a Reply

