Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

How do I do this?

Sometimes I sit and think and wonder how I can help raise awareness of the autism community more, I have a vested interest with one – maybe two – child(ren) on the spectrum.

Today is one of those days.

Originally I figured the best way to do this would be to blog, as truthfully and honestly as I could. Showing the good times and the not-so-good. Hoping that people would read, empathise and share.

And they do. And I’m so grateful for every RT, every share, every comment.

But I feel like I need to do more. But I don’t know how.

I’m not a stand-up-and-tell-all person.

I’ve tried emailing magazines, referencing the blog and asking for an inclusion. About 90% didn’t reply and those that did said they “don’t accept unsolicited work”. Back to square one then.

The one magazine that, unprompted, said they would publish something didn’t.

I sometimes wonder if I’m being too optimistic when members of my own family don’t understand aspects of the spectrum. And don’t seem to want to. If they won’t, how can I expect others to?

It discourages me but then I look at my beautiful children, genetically programmed with their traits and quirks, and know that I want them to grow up in a society that isn’t too quick to judge; that will accept they have a disability which can’t be seen and that even though there are generalisations of individuals, they are beautifully unique.

So, I don’t really know the answer yet but I do know that I’m carrying on, doing what I’m doing. I have to, for them.

20130113-143254.jpg

20130113-143244.jpg

20130113-143549.jpg

Comments on: "How do I do this?" (6)

  1. I am in the same situation as you are. As an educator, one of the main concerns that I have is people’s lack of awareness about ASD. I also started a blog, tweeted and joined online forums about Autism to both learn and educate. I have tried contacting the National Autistic Society (UK) to ask what I can do, but unfortunately, they haven’t replied.

    It is important, I believe, to keep on doing what you are doing. πŸ˜‰

  2. I think all you can do, is exactly what you are doing. Keep plugging away. Eventually people will get the message and hopefully they will realise that our kids/teenagers/youths/adults are all individuals. You are doing a great job.

  3. I think you are doing a great job. Just by blogging other parents can come and find information or just “relate” to things.

Leave a Reply

