Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

…or I would, if I had one!

Two weeks today until Christmas Eve and despite the fact we are having a much-reduced Christmas in the Bluecrisps household, it’s easy to get sucked into the general panic of other people.

We don’t really NEED a Heston Blummenthal Christmas cake that looks like a Christmas pudding but because it’s out of stock in our local Waitrose, my brain seems to think we MUST have one. And they’re not cheap either.

Hubbie will say “what meat are we having Christmas Day?” cos I like to be a bit rebellious and not have turkey – not least because you’re eating turkey sandwiches, turkey curry, turkey pie, turkey soup etc for weeks afterwards. Last year we had beef – yummy Yorkshire puds, horseradish, peppercorn sauce etc – no idea for this year yet, I’ll get inspired soon (I hope), otherwise it will be cheese on toast, which might be what we have if I get my hands on a Heston cake!

20121210-200616.jpg

Our day, anyway:
D was full of anxieties around her blood tests tomorrow, she thinks they’re going to take all her blood out and nothing would reassure her. She, luckily, was distracted by stars on the Christmas tree in school’s reception and went off happily.

I decided to ask the doctors if I could have a phial that the nurses use for blood collection, to show D that it wasn’t going to be a massive amount – easier said than done. The nurse was very dismissive and said I should go on the Internet and tell her that as soon as she moves about it’s replaced. Well yes, true, but when you’re dealing with a child who is basically extremely scared and anxious about the procedure and the out-of-routine elements, any rational explanation disappears.

Eventually she gave me one phial:

20121210-201248.jpg and this will demonstrate visually to D that it’s a tiny amount.

Which has worked, a bit, this evening. We’ve shown with water that it’s a very small quantity and, if D is distracted by apps and games on my phone (which is the plan), she won’t see it happening anyway *fingers and toes tightly crossed*.

D has her performance as Mary to school tomorrow and to parents on Wednesday *squeal*, a post I shared earlier “Here comes the Sun – and I don’t mean the paper” demonstrates just how far she’s come in the last couple of years.

T has his carol singing on Wednesday evening, he has to wear a waistcoat, something he is not comfortable with at all.

Proud of them both, they’ve both got challenges to overcome in the next couple of days.

I hope everyone’s had a good day, comments/RTs/shares as ever welcomed, thanks for reading Jx 😘

20121210-202636.jpg

20121210-202618.jpg

Comments on: "Monday 10th December – chasing my tail.." (5)

  1. That nurse needed to be a lot more understanding – asd children often need something visual or tangible to make sense of a situation, one vial would hardly break the NHS surely, and bet she’ll be the first complaining if D kicked off. Grrr. Hope it all goes well for her tomorrow!

  2. Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no
    data backup. Do you have any solutions to
    stop hackers?

  3. I’m not sure where you are getting your info, however great topic. I needs to spend a while finding out much more or working out more. Thanks for fantastic info I was in search of this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

