Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

I have a subscription to “My Animal Farm” for D, she loves receiving the books and, of course, the little farm animals. Generally she gets four issues every four weeks – which T will grump about, forgetting he has his Match magazine delivered every week.

The days and weeks merge together, don’t they and it’s easy to loose track of time, especially when there is so much else going on.

It was only when I saw a bank statement last week that I realised we hadn’t had any issues for a while and thought “I must phone them”.

Then, last Thursday, a lady knocked on the door with 12 issues! My issues! She subscribed to a cooking magazine, changed her delivery address to her mums in my road and basically her mum had been receiving my issues – addressed to me but to her address?!? She’d phoned them a few times but they kept arriving and it was only when she spoke to our postman – who’s a fab, friendly little chap – and he suggested they might be mine. Goodness knows where her cooking sub is going to.

My postman knocked the next day to check she’d been round etc. I phoned the company and they were adamant I’d moved (errrr no!) and that was why the address had changed. So, after a conversation where I quoted Data Protection etc, it should have been sorted.

Not so… I phoned them today to see if I could get a replacement scarecrow (the one that D dropped on the track on Saturday) and they couldn’t find me on their system. Not by name, address or email address. They then said “oh, we have your delivery address as xxxxx (correct) but your billing address is xxxxx (in the next blooming village!).

Virtual explosion down the phone and hopefully it’s now all sorted out but if four more issues don’t appear in four weeks, I’ll be on the phone again… but this can’t just be restricted to me surely. How many other people have “moved” according to their systems?

One good thing to come out of this, D’s being sent another scarecrow, shame it’s not “wine o’clock” yet, I’ll have a decaff instead.

Rant over, thanks for reading Jx 😘

Comments on: "For goodness sake and other thoughts…" (1)

  1. Bit late with my sympathy,getting my Partner’s book club membership cancelled was hysterical , he’d been a member for Years and didn’t want anymore books. Telephone calls didn’t work. So I turned up on their Doorstep ( In Swindon). That worked quite well.These people forget they’re dealing with Human beings. I had temped there so I knew there procedures. Gave them a piece of my mind. Never heard from them again.Tee Hee.

Leave a Reply

