Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

My exhausted D is finally settled, thank goodness for melatonin. Without it she wouldn’t be settling until the early hours, if at all. It’s not been a good day.

It was “dress like a super hero” day at school, to raise money for air ambulances. When I originally read the note my heart sank, I imagined D in her class of 8 excitable boys, them all dressed as Batman, Spiderman etc and I couldn’t imagine her being comfortable in there. I didn’t say this to her – of course, I wouldn’t want to influence anything – and she decided she didn’t want to be a “superhero”, I don’t think she knew what a superhero was anyway.

Our day:

Once T was dropped off this morning, D had her ten swings at the park that she pass through, saw the cat that always seems to wait and miaow at us (another one for routines) and she went in happily with her TA.

I wish she’d stayed happy. It was a very different D I collected. She already looked unhappy through the door and as soon as she saw me, she bolted into the toilets area – she does tend to save up any emotion until the end of the day. Staff said that another child had been upsetting her and this was why she was unhappy. Eventually she was calm enough to take out, but she absolutely refused to say goodbye to the teacher or TAs, which is very unusual.

It was a shout-y journey home, she started telling (shouting) me about her day. From what she said, this child (boy) had not only been upsetting her, he’d also been hitting her today. Both in the morning and afternoon. She did say that he does hit other children, so it’s not restricted to her alone. Poor D.

She alternated between being very cross about her day and crying. Didn’t want to see or talk to T and Hubbie as they are “boys”, didn’t want to do anything apart from be next to me, having a cuddle, staying close. We had frequent shouts of “I’m not doing that because I’m too GRUMPY!” – my truthful D!

I’m really sad she’s had such a bad day but I know the theme of the day cannot have helped. It’s a tricky one, the school wants to be part of the community and raise money, but for those children who can’t cope with unexpected change and here over-excitement of others, it’s very difficult.

At least she’s settled now and she has something to look forward to tomorrow, we’re going to a SN arts and crafts session, organised by Mencap. Should be ideal for D (fingers crossed).

I hope everyone’s had a good (or at least better day than D), comments/RTs/shares via the buttons below as ever welcomed, thanks for reading Jx 😘

20120928-210237.jpg

20120928-210257.jpg

Comments on: "Friday 28th September – not the best day.." (5)

  1. Poor D, sounds like a very tough day. We have a “wear pyjamas to school” day next Friday and I am dreading it for similar reasons, M will probably not want to wear them or try to wear something inappropriate etc etc and the day will be ruined before it starts. Arrrghhh.

  2. I am sorry to hear that :(. Today what should have been a great swimming lesson for my son W. Was overshadowed by someone else’s ignorance. He has been going to private swimming lessons for 7 months. His instructor is wonderful and is so patient and kind. This is something that is so out of my W’s comfort level his ASD is so evident. We schedule our appointments for time when the pool isn’t being used as much (it’s at my local gym). Most of the patrons are very encouraging to W (b/c of his reactions in his lesson it is evident that he is in private lessons for a reason). There are other times that people say thier nasty comments under their breaths. Or even once a water aerobics instructors expressed her disdain for my son’s loudness(which is only at times he has to do something that scares him) to her class. Yup I had a talking to with the management and that instructor was disciplined. Well today it was an older lady doing physical therapy in the pool. She was in her space and my son was in his with his instructor of the entire 60 min he maybe got upset and yelled loudly 3 times. One of the times this woman actually was like “whoa be quiet”, another time she said something to her PT and many other times she shot nasty looks at my 5 year old son. Regardless of diagnosis, who is cold-hearted enough to be upset at a CHILD who is learning to swim and has genuine fears? I wasn’t going to say anything unless she said a comment to my son or said something to me. After the lesson was over and he was all dressed. I crossed paths with her on my way out of the dressing room and I couldn’t help myself. She looked at us and kinda of smiled and I said Ma’m by son screams like that sometimes because he is autistic. She said, “Oh it’s ok, it was just so ear splitting it startled me.” I was going to leave it at that, but then I thought. 1)I am not apologizing to you lady and 2) I just explained why he screamed you don’t have to emphasize that it was earsplitting. So I said, “Well, now you know and next time you see him you don’t have to give him dirty looks. She replied, “I wasn’t giving him dirty looks.” As I walked away, I said,” um yeah you were.”
    W had such a great lesson. This is the most he swam a lone in a lesson. I just wished this woman knew that 7 months ago we couldn’t even get him to his knees in a pool without screaming endlessly. I should focus on all the positive people today. For that one mean lady there were 3 people that encouraged him or even just gave him a smile. He works so damn hard at those swimming lessons and I wish everyone would understand. Thanks for giving me an outlet to vent!

Leave a Reply

