Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

Unless you keep your money under the mattress, chances are you have a bank account. Let’s face it you can’t do much without a bank account, a debit card or a computer these days. More and more bills are now sent out electronically and the days of paying by cheque are numbered, since the banks won’t guarantee them anymore.

T and D are familiar with the concept of going to the “hole in the wall” but they don’t understand at the moment that once you have taken money out of a cashpoint, that money comes from your account and not from a generous bank member behind the cashpoint.

The recent fiasco whereby certain banks could not process or recognise payments has proved that the banking system is not invincible, although its members seem to think it is. And Bob Diamond receiving £2m in salary and benefits? How the other half lives, eh?

I had to go into my local bank today as I wanted to cancel a standing order that I couldn’t seem to cancel online. It was to a building society savings account, I have one set up for each of the children. Now that the 18 year old has moved out, I figured he can save his own money, not mine!

I told the cashier the amount, the date it came it out and the reference number. She couldn’t find it, but could find the other two standing orders. I had lots of “are you sure it’s not this reference?” No, it’s not. Then I called up my statement and showed her. “Oh, I’ve never seen it not appear on this list before” and then “are you sure it’s that account?”. Eventually we tracked it down and it appears to have already been cancelled. I haven’t cancelled it and she could offer no explanation. But THINKS that it should be okay and that no further payments will come out. Apparently it is pointless me checking with the building society.

I was asked if anyone else had access to my account – No! And it was suggested that maybe I had cancelled it when searching for it previously…. Umm, hello? I’m not stupid!!

Completely condescending attitude and “it can’t possibly be our systems” answer. I’m going to go into the building society anyway but it’s made me wonder if I’ve had received a slightly less condescending approach if we’d been talking a lot more than a £10 a month standing order?

Money talks in this world.

Comments on: "Bankers….who’d trust them?" (2)

  1. I think most people are disillusioned with our high street banks. I have first hand experience of how ruthless they can be and how they love you when you earn a great salary – oh how they throw money at money! But when you fall on hard times, they don’t want to know and quite frankly they don’t care. The one saving grace is that you can make a stand against people like Barclays and switch banks – but then again, is any bank better than the other?

Leave a Reply

