Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

I don’t know if you are already aware of the “Oxygen Mask Project” and the hashtag #yearoftheoxygenmask?

If not, let me elaborate a bit. It’s a project being run to encourage us all to take a little bit of time out for ourselves, or doing something for ourselves.

Parenting a special needs child is exhausting, I can sometimes spend a whole day running from one thing to other, never actually achieving a great deal but getting through it because the school runs have to be done, the routines need to be kept to and once your children are in bed, that’s when you start thinking about what else needs to be done, and so it goes on.

I’ve had flu this week and I spent the weekend on the sofa, either snuggled up under covers or throwing them off because I was hot or cold and then because Hubbie had to be at work Sunday and football coaching Saturday, it was still me doing the chores, the cooking and everything else albeit at a much slower pace.

It makes you think about just how much of your day is taken up caring for others.

I’ve put on my “oxygen mask” this week and I’m thinking of ways I can take more time for me, or at least enhance the free time that I currently have.

I made time to have a haircut today – nothing radical – but it was “me” time and instead of looking in the mirror and chopping my fringe myself, I let someone else do it.

One of my resolves this year is to stop the childminding from July, this will be a natural end then as one child will leave to start Reception in September – his mother is a school teacher so she has the summer holidays off. I need to think about either something I can do from home during school hours or find a suitable job. Suggestions for the home element would be welcomed please.

I need to make more time for reading – books, blog posts, those weekly magazines that end up at the side of the bed. You can immerse yourself into a well written book and whether you come out of it feeling happy or sad at the end, it’s that time that you’ve taken for you. Reading is so relaxing, I’m so glad my children all enjoy it.

I need to take up those coffee offers when they come in, otherwise they’ll stop.
But at the same time…
I removed a negative element from my life yesterday. The comments, the voicemails dictating what I should not blog about finally got to me. No more.

Little things but they are going to enhance my life and keep me on track.

Comments/RTs as ever welcomed, thanks for reading J x 😘

Comments on: "I’m putting on my Oxygen Mask this year…" (10)

  1. Love this! You’re going to enjoy time for yourself, but at the same time, you’re going to need to remember (again & again) to take this time, if you’re anything like me! 😉 Listen to your heart & don’t worry about what others say/think about what you should blog – this is *your* blog for your thoughts and feelings and things you want to share. 🙂

  2. great idea but I don’t think I can do this project at the moment. Glad to read you’ve removed the negative element in your life; I didn’t realise you were getting comments dictating what you should be blogging about.

    PS have you thought about doing some voluntary work when you give up childminding? Its a good way to get new experiences and a way into work. You can also do as little or as many hours as you can which fits in with children and school.

    Deb

    • Thanks for commenting Deb. voluntary work sounds a good idea. I’m going to look into that nearer the time.
      The negative element has been removed, a family member unfortunately – and that’s how it’s going to say. Feel much better for making that decision. 😃

  3. Great post! And good for you! Sometimes removing the negative elements is the key to the fresh air coming in.
    We’d love to feature your post on our blog. Can you email us at oxygenmaskproject (at) gmail (dot) com or send us a tweet? Thank you so much!
    Alysia, co-editor, Oxygen Mask project

  4. I loved your post! I completely agree! Society seems to suggest that “selflessness” is the way of the mother… but really what do you have left for yourself, others and the world if you are self-less
    I believe mums need to take time out to be self-full and from that place of fullness they have so much more to give to themselves, their families and the world. So you go for it – I am doing my bit for myself too so I can be the person I want to be and the happy and productive person my family, friends and the world deserve! Oh yes PS If I’m self-full I am a good role model for my child to take care of themselves too! The added bonus and yet another reason to be self-full!

    • Thank you for reading and for commenting, that tiny piece of “me” time – even if it’s only half hour is wonderful. The removal of the negative element has had such a positive impact too 

  5. […] post was originally published HERE and used with permission. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  6. Thankyou for blogging this. I do feel guilty about my own oxygen mask – knitting – and I really shouldn’t. Yesterday, I took off with some twitter/ravelry friends up into Northumberland. We visited a farmer’s market and a wool festival, went for lunch together, went for lunch elsewhere and then ambled home the very long way around. It felt very strange to be gone a whole day without the boys, big or small, but I’m determined to grab those chances when I can from now on. DH has proved to himself that he can more than cope and the boys barely missed me!

    • Sounds like you had a lot of fun, well done you! A teensy bit of “you” time just seems to make things a bit more manageable. Make sure you do it again soon! X

Leave a Reply

