Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

For my D – A Poem

Linking in today with @VicWelton for

Lauren (@AutismMums_Dads) asked today if anyone had any poems to share, this is one I wrote:

“From the moment you were placed upon my tum,
No doubt about it, I was your mum.

My love for you will never falter,
You are my D, my buddy, my daughter.

Certain situations can make you cause a “scene”,
That’s the “thing” about autism, it cannot be seen.

Don’t pre-judge the situation, look at the carer,
Am I shouting right back – or trying to calm her?

Instead of staring, look at my D and smile,
I’m here raising autism awareness…I might be a while.”

Hope you like it. Comments and RTs welcome, as ever ๎˜ Jx

20120311-165859.jpg

Comments on: "For my D – A Poem" (12)

  1. Wonderful, so many people don’t understand how hard it can be! A fantastic poem helping to raise awareness. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. blooming fab poem honey xx

    • Thanks J, wrote it a while ago and felt like sharing it today.

      My original one was a bit too dark, might include it next week or not at all, not sure :-/

  3. Love this ! I have a sister who is mentally & physically handicapped. We went out with my Dad, my 2 girls, my hubby, my sister and her carer the other day for lunch. She shouted and did what she usually does to communicate. You learn to ignore the stares, the misunderstanding faces. Raising awareness of all special needs is so important xx

  4. This is excellent. Especially the last line x

  5. A really great, straightforward poem from the heart, telling it like it is. Fantastically written. Thank you for linking to Prose for Thought lovely xx

  6. Lovely poem J. I don’t know how anyone could not smile at such a pretty smiley face xx

Leave a Reply

