Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

Poor lalaloopsy…

You’re probably the same as me coming up to Christmas – what can I buy my child, what will they like to open?

Last year was no different. D became fascinated by an advert for Lalaloopsy dolls – two in particular Jewel Sparkles and Cookie Biscuit Crumb or something – I spent ages tracking these dolls down. Eventually bought one from a shop and one online, so relieved when I got them and couldn’t wait for Christmas Day.

By the time it came to opening them, I think D had had present overload. She was very excited to see the dolls, we got them out of the packaging and she played with them once. They now sit on a shelf in her bedroom.

On reflection, I think she would have been happy with a picture of them, she does like pictures to carry around and I laminate her favourites for her.

As part of her autism, D doesn’t imaginatively play, she prefers rules set out for her or being 1:1 led.

Next Christmas, unless her tastes have changed drastically, I think we’ll stick with loads of Crayola pens and colouring books/paper. She relaxes by drawing and her pictures always reflect her emotions and how her day has gone.

Relatives always think I am being incredibly fussy by specifying exact things for birthday or Christmas but I don’t want them to waste their money on something that will more than likely end up in a charity shop or gifted to a school fair.

Comments are ever welcomed 🙂

20120225-135629.jpg

Comments on: "Poor lalaloopsy…" (6)

  1. La lala loopsy
    Way to cute to be hidden , will D have her sit with her in the buggy for school run?
    Just a thought although you may of tried all avenues #NoPunIntended .

  2. Mummy whisperer said:

    I’m fussy too – I spend weeks researching ideas for my kids presents and then send lists out to family. Some hate it, I don’t care!

  3. I have 3 autistic children (boy/girl twins that are 7) and an 8 year old. My daughter went Lala over having a Lalaloopsy doll. Quite frankly I thought they were too much like the creepy Coraline character in the movie and was not going to buy them for her. She also wanted Monster High dolls. I tried to get her to make an alternative list…but she only wanted those two gifts. My daughter has always wanted toys for the acquisition of them and then dumps them once she gets them. She has a lot of American Girl Dolls….a bin full of Barbies that she begged for then stipped and never wanted to play with again. Because I had no choice I got her Monster High doll with the Lalaloopsy twins. I had huge doubts about getting these dolls but what choice did I have? We actually also gave her an IOU from Santa promising she could go to the toy store with Mommy or Daddy to pick out something else just becuase she does not know what is out there unless she is in the store.

    Let me say Lalaloopsy dolls are a miracle for my kids. The Monster High doll is long deserted, the Minnie Mouse she begged for from Grandma was rejected for not looking like online and the Fidget she picked out in the store was returned within 24 hours. My daughter did something she had never done before….she watched the youtube videos other girls made of their Lalaloopies. At first it was just the person opening the package and talking about the features of the dollr and how beautiful it was….but then she moved onto watching other little girls create stories and interact with the dolls. THAT action alone has brought her social skills up probably at least 1 year in the last few months. Have your daughter watch the Lalaloopsy videos. The dolls’s Birthday is written on their bottoms, my daughter threw a birthday party for her doll (I made mini-cupcakes).

    The biggest surprise was my son who can say words and repeat things…but for the most part non-verbal. Never played with a toy appropriately in his life….he fell in love with the Lalaloopsy dolls. We bought a boy one for him but he fell in love with Peanut Big Top and Lil’ Squirt…because Lil Squirt is a little sister. He loves the tutu texture on their clothes and will rub them, but he calls the older girl “Kiss-ter” (instead of sister) and then had Basid as a name for the younger one (not sure why). But he went from never attaching to a toy to doing hand over hand instruction with his dolls. They have become his companions which he continually talks and instructs. I would not have thought imaginative play was possible…but it has developed with these dolls. They are like miracles to me. The other cool thing is for the FIRST time in their lives my twins can play together. They have never been interested in the same toys long enough to play no matter how hard the therapists have tried over the years.

    So my suggestion is that you try to have your daughter watch the http://www.lalaloopsy.com videos that they made of little short stories of the dolls and then the youtube videos of how kids create stories for the dolls. (some of the teen girls have a violent over tone so I would make sure it is something you want to her explore with). The other cool thing we did was to set up the computer video and allowed our daughter to record herself as she tried to talk on the computer, then start to make up stories and have the dolls act them out. We did not publish any on youtube, however it was good for teaching her to observe herself and decide if she likes it (word of warning teach your daughter to turn off the camera or she will fill up the hard drive and crash it…you will need to delete them as well). In a way it has taught her social skills by being able to see how she presents herself to others and then adjust it.

    I am not sure what level your daughter is functioning on.
    if she stills shows zero interest in her dolls send me an email and we’ll buy them if they are responably priced : )

    Cynthia

    • Thanks for your suggestions re LaLaLoopsy, I’ll give those a try. She eventually told me that she rejected them because they weren’t soft (that sensory element) but we’ll persevere x

      • Cynthia said:

        They do make soft Lalaloopsy dolls, but my kids want nothing to do with them. Guess they remind them too much of baby toys (?). I will say when my son had an ashtma attack and threw up on his doll on the way to the hospital I was soooo grateful that doll was washable because he really needed something to love and distract him in the ER until he was breathing normal again. The other cool thing about them…they make GREAT bath time toys!

  4. […] Poor lalaloopsy… | Autism Mumma (Jeannette) La lala loopsy. Way to cute to be hidden , will D have her sit with her in the buggy for school run? Just a thought although you may of tried all avenues #NoPunIntended . Mummy whisperer said: February 26, 2012 at 00:00 am. I'm fussy too – I spend weeks researching ideas for my kids . We bought a boy one for him but he fell in love with Peanut Big Top and Lil' Squirt…because Lil Squirt is a little sister. He loves the tutu texture on their clothes and will rub them, but . […]

Leave a Reply

