Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

Prejudice in the park

You’d like to think your child wouldn’t be subject to discrimination and ignorance in a park, wouldn’t you?

Not so. It was near the end of the school holidays and I decided to take T, D and the two girls I was looking after to the park near us.

If we go to this park, I tend to go just after lunchtime as it’s normally quiet.

The park was empty (phew) apart from one mother with two young boys – probably 5 & 6 years old. They were telling each other to shut up quite aggressively and she wasn’t correcting them, just looked really fed up, so I positioned the children at the other end.

My group started playing hide & seek and all was going well, D joining in nicely. The older boy shouted if he could join in and, as D ran past she answered “no” – not nastily, not aggressively, just “no”.

I decided not to intervene, after all, if the mother was happy to let her children say that to each other, I didn’t really want them playing with my lot. I was going to go over and explain to the mother why not but too late:

“Your children are rude and you’re rude” I got shouted at. I started to try to explain about the autism but no “I don’t care about that, they’re rude and you’re rude. Come on boys, we’re leaving, away from this rude woman”.

It was easier to just turn my back on her & her refusal to listen.

Charming eh? What hope have her children got of accepting anyone who is not the “norm” with a mother like that.

Comments on: "Prejudice in the park" (4)

  1. had it happen to me with mine at the YMCA of all places. I feel your pain honey I really do.

  2. Yep, apples don’t fall far from the tree.

  3. Elaine Walton said:

    Unfortunately it happens all the time. My grandson gets quite aggressive verbally when he is upset, and has said nasty things to me in front of people. I have had people mutter behind my back about how he has been “dragged” up to show such disrespect. I tend to just ignore them now, as the majority don’t even understand when u try and explain to them. They still think it’s my fault that he speaks that way. Xxx

  4. […] without stares/looks/comments. Too often we run into people like this mother I blogged about here, not understanding and not wanting to understand […]

Leave a Reply

