Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

I want to be…

I joined an online writing forum yesterday, at the suggestion of another Twitter user. There are 22 pages of assignments with topics as diverse as “growing your own cauliflowers” and “analysing Bob Marley’s lyrics”! I haven’t chosen an assignment yet, I need to investigate more, and sort of do a cost benefits analysis.

One of the questions when you sign up was “what were the three things you wanted to do as a job, when a teenager”. In no order of preference, mine were:

A rockstar
An air hostess
A secretary

Now, one of those I achieved, one I nearly did and the other…a definite no. I’ll let you guess which was which!

Remembering those aspirations got me thinking about my hopes for my children. When they’re first born you have a flash forward almost of what you’d like them to achieve. If you have a son, it’s a premier league footballer – especially once they start kicking a ball! Or a solicitor. Something successful. If you have a daughter, you want them also to be successful in whichever career they choose, get married & have their own children. Or not, if that is their choice.

And then a few years later, you get told your child has an additional need, or needs. They also get a label within society – “disabled”. This hits you like a ton of bricks, you spend some time grieving for the child and adult you will not have. Will D be able to live independently, will she get married, will she have her own children? There are so many unanswered questions.

What I do know is, that I’d like the world to have accepted autism by the time she’s a young adult. I’d like her not to fear prejudice or discrimination but (standing on my political soapbox for a minute) I can’t see that happening anytime soon. Partially why I blog, to raise Autism Awareness.

What I want (my children) to be…is happy, then I will be too.

Comments on: "I want to be…" (3)

  1. I love this little blog, it says so much. xx
    I am bloodyrecruiter from twitter! great to see you on here too, take a look at my blog when you get the chance http://www.birchwoodrecruit.wordpress.com
    xx

  2. Normally I do not read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice post.

Leave a Reply

