Me and my girl and boy, raising awareness and acceptance of autism

When plasters do NOT heal

Both D & T have severe latex allergies. I presume they’ve got it from me as I can only use certain washing powders, soaps, hand creams etc. Also can’t wear plated jewellery – has to be silver, gold or non metal, not a cheap date.

On the data collection forms that you have to sign for school, I’ve always been sure to write “severe latex allergy” on their forms for the respective schools.

It has caught T’s mainstream school out once when they were all doing work from plastic inserts and a rash appeared rapidly on the arm touching the insert.

It is more difficult to police this in D’s SN school. In September, I filled in and signed the form and because the TA said they had been given some of D’s plasters from the previous class, I presumed they were latex free and that I need not provide some. You would, wouldn’t you?

Big mistake. Three weeks ago, D got pushed over & had a plaster applied. This was on the Wednesday. As soon as I got her home from school I realised that the wrong plaster had been applied. I dressed it with non latex plasters & antiseptic cream but by then, the reaction had already started. By the Sunday, the actual graze had heeled but there were hundreds of blisters oozing & causing her a lot of discomfort (see first picture)

I made sure that she had her own medical box at school with non latex plasters & non latex gloves from then on. The plasters school had used were not D’s & had latex – why the TA had been told they were okay, I do not know.

A further week later & things are looking better but you can still see from picture two, the outline of the original plaster. (think the pictures have gone in wrong order)

So, all healing nicely but it has been un necessary. A bit of checking on school’s part & it could have been avoided.

T fell over at his school recently and refused a plaster because he knew about his allergy. Brave chap that he is. I have tried to teach D to say “latex” but if she were in the same position of having fallen over, she would be so anxious that I don’t think she could communicate that or associate the fact that a duff plaster could make things worse.

I feels like I will always need to be one step ahead, always risk assessing.

20120205-212806.jpg

20120205-212829.jpg

Comments on: "When plasters do NOT heal" (1)

  1. Poor D! There is no excuse for her school to not pay better attention. I hope they don’t repeat this mistake. xx

Leave a Reply

